Michal Martyniuk Quartet

Michal Martyniuk is a polish born pianist and composer.

Based in New Zealand since 2007 and the holder of a degree in Jazz Performance from Auckland University, Michal has also performed with notable New Zealand musicians including vocalist Tama Waipara and Lewis McCallum as well as playing with bands Sola Rosa, Batucada Sound Machine and holding the keyboard chair in the Nathan Haines Band since 2014, playing piano, fender rhodes and a range of synthesisers.

His new project assembles a group of musicians close to his musical heart – Ron Samsom on drums, Cameron McArthur on bass and Jakub Skowronski on saxophones.
Martyniuk’s compositions and performance contain all of the hallmarks of modern Euro jazz. The material written by Michal in his words “will draw on characteristics of contemporary American and European jazz traditions”

Michal has teamed up with producer Nick Williams and the pair, collectively known as “After ‘Ours”, are just released their debut album both digitally and on vinyl.. It features a stellar array of international talent including UK vocalists Kevin Mark Trail and Sharlene Hector, Nathan Haines, Miguel Fuentes and many more.